Post #1 – Here we go!

Standard

So….I don’t have a good track record keeping up with blogs or journals. Facebook…sure… Stuff that requires frequent upkeep…not so much. But, I’m giving this a shot. Seriously though…don’t expect something new every day. 😉 As some of you know this year has, so far, been just a tad bit trying. Things in my life own life have been halfway decent…it’s just that most of the people around me are going through crappy times and that kind of stresses me out. Hence the effort to concentrate on trying to see the glass as being half full…

While wandering through a bookstore one day I found this book called The Happy Book: a journal to celebrate what makes you happy by Rachel Kempster and Meg Leder. A.w.e.s.o.m.e.!! I recommend you all buy yourselves a copy.

http://www.amazon.com/Happy-Book-Rachel-Kempster/dp/1402226527

The concept seems to be  – find an activity in the book and write down what makes you happy. Fill out the journal when you’re happy and then refer back to it when you’re not. Right now, I’m sticking pretty close to the suggestions in the book. Eventually, I hope to freestyle it and venture out on my own. Some of the activities require group participation and feedback. Perfect for a blog, no? (The authors even suggest starting a blog!)

So…without further ado: Project 1:

Make a list of some of the things that make you happy.

  • Dave, Max and Timmy

My guys!

  • Family and friends
  • Talking to M on the phone
  • A new bottle of coffee creamer
  • Laughing
  • Summer rain
  • Finishing a knitting project
  • Electric blankets in winter
  • Chocolate pie
  • Scifi books
  • Disney World

Having fun at Disney on my last visit there!

BT playing the Star Spangled Banner

  • Taking standardized tests
  • Cooking an awesome meal from a new cookbook
  • Farmers markets
  • My phone
Obviously not an all-inclusive list! Share some of your lists with me!! I’d love to see what you come up with. Don’t think about it too hard…just write some things down.
until next time…h
6 responses »

  1. Hi Heather! This is such a great idea!! I definitely need to check this book out! The older I get the more pessimistic I think I am getting! Some of the things that make me happy are..
    My little Griffin!
    Cooking
    Reading
    Yoga
    Coffee
    My tiny house and…
    …Disney World (thats a good one)

    Like

    • My list is a little long because I made a commitment to myself to reach at least 20.

      -rain
      -hats
      -aprons
      -heirloom tomatoes
      -cats
      -Lush glitter lotion bar
      -Country Living magazine
      -sundresses
      -the old miniature Red Flyer wagon that I use as a planter
      -watching Tom & Jerry cartoons w/my boys
      -flea marketing
      -old quilts
      -Project Runway
      -when someone confides in me
      -Neko cat
      -snow days
      -miniature giraffes
      –“good” pencils
      -My favorite Bible verse
      -brisk walks in autumn leaves

      Like

      • Great list! I hope you get your miniature giraffe some day 🙂 I love snow days, too – everyone out here is a little tougher about snow than back home though! 2 ft…no problem…we’ll just start classes an hour later…haha. Thanks for sharing!! Your list made me smile!!

        Like

  2. I love it. Standardized tests!

    Things that make me happy. This is fun. 🙂

    Davey and David
    Koko (and Timber even though it’s now happy memories of him. He was a goofball who always made us laugh.)
    Knitting and knitting some more
    Buying yarn.
    Blogging
    Reading
    Teaching
    Thunderstorms
    🙂

    Like

    • Very lucky that you like thunderstorms!! I hear we’ll get more tomorrow. I wish I’d gotten to meet Timber… *hug*.

      Yep..standardized tests. Love ’em. I almost took the LSAT just for fun once. Hmmm…maybe I should add that back to my bucket list 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

