Knitting fail? Not really…

Standard

At first glance…this looks like an epic dog sweater knitting project fail, right?

I mean, really. How is that supposed to fit my dog…or any dog. It probably wouldn’t even fit a Chihuahua puppy!

Thank goodness it was just a test project. I’ve never worked from a pattern before and wasn’t even sure I could do it. I have trouble just alternating rows of knit and purl! Since I wasn’t sure if I could follow the pattern, I started small…used baby weight yarn and followed the instructions for a small sweater. Turns out it was very, very small. I was so incredibly proud of myself though. It was the most beautiful thing I think I’ve ever seen. Mr. Horsey likes it, too.

Dave knew how proud I was of myself – and that I was a little sad it wouldn’t fit one of the dogs (even though I knew from that start it would be too small…) He made me laugh by putting the sweater on the toy horse! Imagine my surprise when I came downstairs and found the horse – sweater and all – placed, with pride, in our “cabinet of curiosities“!

I’ve got a couple more scarves to finish up and then it’s on to trying a couple of really dog-sized sweaters! Don’t worry you humans…I don’t plan on knitting sweaters for people!!

And…in honor of Thanksgiving I just want to take a moment to say how glad I am we’re all still here!! It’s been a tough year – but there has been a lot to be thankful for!!

Mwah!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

