Sick Days

Standard

I think this is the first time ever in my life that I’ve actually used all of my sick days. Years ago, someone at work gave me a report about how many hours of unused sick time I would have accrued  – had sick time accrued. It was a couple hundred hours way back then…can’t imagine what it would be up to now. No one major illness, just plenty of small, buggy days or days when I decided I didn’t want to get everyone else sick even though I was stubborn enough to trudge on through whatever needed to be done. Even I have come to realize that one may not do ones best work when one has the sniffles, a voice that sounds like a deranged chipmunk and a slight fever. I’m at the stage now where I’m feeling better and am a little stir-crazy, but my body still wants to sleep. Mind and body are at odds. Seeing as I just had breakfast and coffee, I decided to take advantage of this brief burst of between nap time energy and share some of the late summer pics that make me smile. Also…even if it is a blog post at least I’ll feel like I accomplished something today!

I love the Gibbons at the Zoo! They are getting braver and braver and venturing further from their home base. It’s been fun to see them explore their new surroundings.

20121210-185358.jpg

Rooftop sculpture at the Metropolital Museum of Art. Tomas Saraceno’s Cloud City. I sat in the rooftop garden and did homework while Dave attended a conference. (The helpful WordPress recommended links feature want to link Cloud City to a reference about Star Wars…awesome, but wrong. I did it anyway. Here is a real link to the Artist’s info: Tomas Saraceno.

20121210-185420.jpg

Dave running through the Met after his conference session ended for the day. At least I think this was the Met…for all I know this could be an old picture from the DAM that I jut found…

20121210-185439.jpg

My homage to “I am Legend“. Waiting to meet my cousin for a Jazz Brunch.

20121210-185459.jpg

Pooh!

20121210-185523.jpg

It’s so dark in the background that you can’t tell we’re at Casa Bonita. For my birthday. Good cheesy fun!

20121210-185552.jpg

Max and I napping in the car while Dave is at the Kansas City Art Museum. We made a quick stop there on the drive back to my dad and step-mom’s house for Thanksgiving.

20121210-185623.jpg

View from the house my Mom and step-dad rented for Thanksgiving. So peaceful. I miss moisture.

20121210-185650.jpg

What I would have worn for Halloween if we had dressed up for Halloween.

20121210-190113.jpg

…and…the most gigantic bag of Gummy Bears I have ever seen in my life. Who needs this many gummy bears. No, we did not purchase the gigantoid bag of gummy bears…)

20121210-190152.jpg

Wow…OK…tired….off for nap number two of the day and here’s to hoping I sound like a human when I wake up.

Leave a Reply

