Hello March 25!

Image
Hello March 25!

I wasn’t sure if I was going to post today or not. I’ve chosen today as my own personal new year – a time to reflect and look back on the year past, and to look forward to the year ahead. I reset today. This year seemed harder to write about. It was full of loss in almost every aspect of my life…even down little things in life like the types of comfort food I can(‘t) eat. And, it’s not just me. So many of my friends and family have experienced crushing loss this year. I’ve fallen prey this year to dwelling on the negative and it’s been harder to look on the bright side. But then, I forced myself to write. I started by looking through photos and I couldn’t stop smiling as I looked through my picture archive to choose what to post. I realized just how lucky I am and how thankful I am for my family and friends and how glad I am for these moments of happiness!  (I focused more on pics of D and I because I wasn’t sure how some of you would feel to have your pics published online!! Don’t worry…they make me smile, too.)

How could I not post? I mean, that’s one of the reasons I started this yearly blog post…. as a way to remind myself what really matters and to pledge to myself and my friends and family that I’m going to live life to the fullest. Even when it feels like a long, uphill hike to do so…  Here’s the thing – I expect you will, too. We’ll do this together! And, to some of you reading this who have also had kind of cruddy years…don’t give up hope. Stay strong…really…fight. Things may seem so bleak right now but don’t give up! Don’t you dare!

So, four years ago I was packing for an emergency trip out of state and scared to the core…as were a few of you reading this. Three years ago I was at the zoo and fed a giraffe. Two years ago I worked went on a run and watched the Hobbit. Last year I worked and went on a run. This year I worked, it snowed and I watched Bridget Jones’s Diary and snuggled with the dogs while D was at a painting class. Each year I’ve gained confidence, made positive changes, become healthier, opened up a teeny-tiny bit more when I was feeling down, and  honored my pledge to someone to try to live life to the fullest and not always be the strong one. I was listening… So….(wipes tear from eye) My pledge to you this year is to open up more, talk more, share more and be there more – to be a bit more courageous. Hold me to it! I guess I started by actually writing and posting this…

My year in pictures:

Leave a Reply

