This is not a post about running…it’s about FOOD! 

Standard
This is not a post about running…it’s about FOOD! 

Ok. Before we get started – here’s the fundraising update.

We’re getting down to the wire, so please donate if you are planning to! I would love to be able to concentrate on my running (and eating….) and not the fundraising 😉 Even $10 helps!

How much can a few dollars really help anyone?

$10 helps researchers grow cells in a lab for a week, helping them better understand how well a new cancer therapy might work

$70 helps ones patient participate in an LLS web education program featuring medical experts who provide the latest disease & treatment info.

$150 raised funds necessary lab supply supplies for 1 week

$1,800 raised promotes LLS-funded patient and healthcare professional programs nationally

$2,000 raised funds an LLS research fellow’s studies for 2 weeks

$5,000 raised funds 1 month of studying a patient undergoing new experimental therapy

$25,000 raised funds 1 year of monitoring blood levels of patients in a clinical trial
If you’re local and you want to contribute – check out this event Chocolate 4 Melina

My fundraising page is here Margaret and Me

I made Margaret’s Paradise Rolls today (recipe and further commentary to follow). It was fun – and fairly easy, although a tad bit messy. Here’s the process:

  1. Drag your sorry behind out of bed.

  2) Open your eyes long enough to make coffee to enjoy in your favorite mug. Coffee press from Ikea, local honey from Vitamin Cottage and my favorite mug from the Abraham Lincoln museum back home.
3) Get distracted by adorable doggie following you around the house. Tuck him into bed and give him scritchy-scratches. Wash hands.

4) Curse the fact that you didn’t do the dishes last night before you went to bed. Do dishes.

5) Gather all of the yummy ingredients – including the not so hard to find but terribly expensive gluten free Graham Crackers – erm “graham style crackers” I mean. Luckily I reread the recipe at the store. I almost bought 1lb of pecans instead of 1 cup! I did miss that I was supposed to get 1lb of graham crackers though. So, yea, we’ll be halving this recipe…

6) Realize that all of my mixing bowls are either in the fridge holding leftovers OR currently in the running dishwasher. Improvise with trifle dish.

7) Put on some chopping music. Strangely enough…this was the album that came on as I started. Yes, yes I do have high hopes for this recipe!!
  8) Realize I have no freaking idea how to chop marshmallows into fine pieces. Knife or scissors? I tried both and ended up going with the knife.

9) Have your husband admire your work and tell you what a great job you are doing. Swat his hand away as he tries to devour all of your marshmallows!
9) Oh man….chopping is not going so well. There has to be a better way to chop marshmallows!

10) Skeptically taste gluten free graham style crackers. (Not bad, they’re not bad….very sugary though.)
  11) Have husband skeptically taste gluten free graham style crackers. He approved. Swat husbands hand to keep him from eating all of the gluten free graham style crackers.

12) Ingredients assemble! (Silently wonder how this will all go together to be able to form a nut roll.)

13) Good grief – stir for 5 minutes?? This is an upper arm workout. Solve mystery of how this will all come together to form a nut roll.

  14) Roll
 15) Success! Paradise rolls!! They’re sitting in the fridge waiting for a few hours to solidify. Then..nom nom nom. I can say that I licked the spoon and the bowl and they. are. delicious…but oh my goodness – sugar overload!!!!

16) Add final goofy picture of finished product – even though it is hard to photograph well. BUT HEY – is that a TARDIS? (Distract people from bad picture of nut roll (and the fact that I have a tiny bit of said nut roll stuck to my teeth) by pointing out the TARDIS.

 17) Write blog post

Here’s the recipe – provided by Aunt Penny (thank you!):

Date Nut Roll (Paradise Roll)

1 cup chopped pecans

1 lb chopped dates

1 lb marshmallows (cut fine)

1/2 cup cream

1 lb graham crackers (rolled into fine crumbs)

1/2 cup milk

Mix dates, pecans, marshmallows with all but one cup cracker crumbs. Add cream and milk. Mix 5 minutes. Shape into loaf and roll in 1 cup cracker crumbs. Put in refrigerator to harden. Serve with whipped cream.

– As I was working through this recipe I realized I had a ton of questions. I got a little sad and emotional, too, because I won’t get a chance to ask Margaret about the recipe! I spent so much time with my Grandma Lois and my Grandma Blanche in their kitchens. We talked about food, life, their past, their families, etc. This I had to do kind of on my own.  Oddly enough, it was also fulfilling. I talked to Margaret  as I was chopping and mixing and asked her questions in my mind  (how in the heck do you chop marshmallows into fine pieces? Which kid got the duty of stirring this sticky concoction for 5 minutes, etc.)- I bet she heard them! I had fun singing in the kitchen and dancing around making this sweet treat.

(Sorry this was so long…I blame the sugar. I couldn’t stop typing….)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

