Lessons From Sick Days

Standard

There are a lot of days where I don’t feel awesome. But this week has been especially not awesome because of smoke blowing in from fires out west. I thought I was doing “ok” and that the smoke had cleared out enough for me to go run. Here I am confident pre-run:

   
Fueling up for a long run, even. 

 
I blissfully set out. The first mile (of eight planned) was tough…but I convinced myself that was just because I was tired. The second mile was tougher. I finally woke up and noticed I couldn’t see the mountains. Uh-oh. Not good. So…I walked home feeling slightly defeated. Here I am post run/walk. Not happy. 

  
  

I finished up the day be helping fundraise at the Rockies game by handing out beads for donations. I felt ok even. Then bam…the next morning I was totally out of commission. Went in to work for 2 hours and then came home. Don’t know if it is the smoke, a cold, the flu…but I was totally sidelined. 

I spent the rest of the day yesterday laying on the floor with my pillows and blankets mindlessly watching HBO-in and out of sleep and wakefulness. Max was my protector dog all day. 
  
I did have a moment of togetherness where I painted my nails and tried my first Jamberry sample! 

 
When Dave got home he fixed our dinner, bought me Popsicles, monitored my fever and made sure I stated hydrated. 

I’m up and at ‘Em and on my way to work today…day three…after having a breakfast cocktail of allergy and asthma medicines, painkillers, coffee, and vitamins-while also dousing myself in essential oils. I would not survive a zombie apocalypse and am seriously going to pack my emergency kit with Claritin and aleve and young life’s RC blend. 
Ok. Lessons learned:

  1. It’s ok to take it easy sometimes. The world will still run (…even if you can’t)
  2. It’s easier to marathon watch  Under the Dome while you’re sick than Game of Thrones. You actually miss something if you fall asleep during Game of Thrones. 
  3. Popsicles can make a delicious dinner. 
  4. Aleve works better than ibuprofen-at least for me. 
  5. One should not attempt outside activity if one cannot see the mountains….

That is all. 

Leave a Reply

